Report Generator won't order domains by expiry date?

Discuss our WHMCS modules and everything associated with them.

Report Generator won't order domains by expiry date?

Postby itomic » 14th May 2014, 9:18 am

I'm an old/experienced tech, but just trying out the Report Generator module for the first time.

It's probably me, but I can't get Report Generator to list out the tbldomains ordered by expiry date. I can get it to list out domains, no problem - it just won't behave on the expiredate column.

Any ideas?? Must be me! Surely not a bug on such a simple operation?
itomic

Re: Report Generator won't order domains by expiry date?

Postby Piotr » 14th May 2014, 9:58 am

Hello,

It will be quite difficult to find out what's the reason of the problem.
I expect here a problem with configuration of Order By but it can be something else.

If my answer didn't help you even a little bit :) then please open a support ticket and share with us your WHMCS admin area details and FTP details. We will verify this.

Link to our support.
Piotr Dołęga
ModulesGarden CMO
Site Admin
ModulesGarden - High-End WHMCS Modules & Software Developer Outsourcing
Piotr
Site Admin

Postby itomic » 14th May 2014, 11:43 am

Thanks for your reply.

I've got a simple suggestion which I think would help enormously with debugging failed attempts to generate reports: allow a view of the db query or queries that have built for each report.

In my case, I'd could read it no problem, and I could almost certainly help myself.

If someone's not familiar with syntax, then my idea would allow them to cut and paste it to others (e.g. this support forum) for help.

Good idea?
itomic

Postby itomic » 14th May 2014, 12:42 pm

But I'll try to describe anyhow, because it's so simple...

1. I create a new report from scratch.
2. Under the Main Settings tab:
i. From Table - Domains table (tblsdomains)
ii. Columns to Select: ID, expirydate, domain
3. Under the "Order "Order & Limits" tab"